My collection of free short stories. Because nothing else in life is free.

My email to Giovanni “Garbageman” Gelati

For more information on the Trestle Press debacle read my journal here: here

This is the quick email I shot to him today. So far no response. But I’ll keep you updated. 🙂 Yea.

Hi it’s me L. Vera. You almost published a book for me with a stolen image. I just want you to know, and I only speak for myself, that I will continue to let artist and authors know about the issue.

You have already taken many of the books off and for that I thank you. It’s just that I know that there’s more. Marvel, Activision, and IO Interactive they wouldn’t be so happy with you using their images, even if you couldn’t find someone to ask permission to, like the trestle press blog states. Hire someone, stop telling us there’s other people helping when they aren’t. You took the images.

I just don’t want to see this happen to someone else. Someone who is a good writer only to be dragged in some mess.

I want to see all your books pulled. I feel sorry or the authors and the artist who deserve more.

I’m not the only “individual”. There is more than one forum discussing this, I’m just the most upset.

I do want to thank you. Thank you for teaching me a lesson and for making me aware of what and who is out there.

5 responses

  1. Conor McVarnock

    I sent him an email voicing my concerns and asking where he got the cover art for the story he published for me, what i got, as well as being blocked from the Trestle Press facebook group, was this:

    “I am going to wish you luck with your career. If you want me to send you the $.75 we owe you for the three sales you have please send me your Paypal info I will do it right now.
    I hope that your writing takes off as you hope.

    Giovanni gelati
    etc….”

    Not exactly cool if you ask me. Ah well, does anyone know of any E-Publishers who aren’t dodgy?

    February 1, 2012 at 9:09 pm

    • Hi…I’m a former author @ Trestle. Pulled out last year in November. OMGosh, does he owe everyone .75 cents? And did every book just sell 3 copies? He told me the same when I left. I And told me never to advertise my work on Trestle FB page, if ever I get my Soul Collector series published again. As if I would!! I’m starting to think he made more money that he let on..mmmhh

      February 3, 2012 at 8:23 am

  2. Conor, Untreed Reads are fine They don’t put books out overnight but they spend time on cover design and editing. Also, Snubnose Press, Bare Knuckle Press and Blasted Heath are well thought of.

    February 2, 2012 at 10:58 am

  3. Bravo for following up on all those other cover images, and spreading the word.

    I’m glad Trestle reverted your rights. They couldn’t have held on to them, not after pulling a stunt like this; but it’s nice that they did it quickly, without a fuss.

    For what it’s worth, I don’t think Trestle has been selling many copies of their books. The more successfully you publish a plagiarized work, the more certain you are to be caught. If Trestle’s been swiping stuff on the level of Nightrider, Bill & Ted’s Excellent Adventure, and Stephen King covers, and you’re the first person who’s raised hell about it, their books are not being seen by potential readers. You’re well out of it.

    February 6, 2012 at 3:57 am

  4. I would like to commend L. Vera for some fine reporting and having the courage to stand up. Writers struggling to get their work established sometimes don’t ask enough questions or make publishers provide clear and transparent contracts. A good rule of thumb is to insist that any publisher who will be profiting from your work answer the same questions you would ask of any professional-for-hire. Would you let a plumber under your house without a referral, knowing about good or bad work he’s done, or asking about the materials he’s going to use? Of course you wouldn’t. Treat anybody in the book biz by the same standards and you’ll be fine. But the minute somebody starts to shine you on with bullcrap about “helping writers” and all this emotional smoke and mirrors, there’s something fishy. Insist on clear answers, and if they’re not forthcoming, give ’em a pass.
    Elaine Ash

    February 10, 2012 at 12:19 am

Leave a Reply

