My collection of free short stories. Because nothing else in life is free.

An Interview With The Face Smashing Paul D. Brazil

L. Vera: It means a lot to me to have you on my blog.

Paul D. Brazil: It’s nice to be asked, mate.

L. Vera: I know you write a lot of gritty noir in crime infested worlds. Since I’ve always felt you were such a “tough guy”, I want to know, who was the last person you punched?

Paul D. Brazil: I’m a writer not a fighter. I’m more float like a bee, sting like a butterfly. Drink like a fish.

20120425-203858.jpg

L. Vera: Drink Like A Fish, that should be the title of a book. Anyways, I’ve always seen your stuff in collections, ever think about pushing a novel out?

Paul D. Brazil: There’ll be a novella coming out at some point this year from Pulp Press called Guns Of Brixton. And at least one more that should be out by the end of the year.

L. Vera: So what kind of violence will we see in, “The Beginning Of The End”? And will anyone get punched in the face in your story?

Paul D. Brazil: “The Beginning Of The End” has lots of violence that’s much worse than a punch in the face but, as is my taste, the violence all happens ‘off screen’.

L. Vera: What compelled you to write such a piece?

Paul D. Brazil: I wanted to write something about someone having a fresh start and burning bridges. And then see what happens after that. It’s like the last frame of The Graduate‘, which I’ve always found quite ominous.

L. Vera: And once again (it’s like my catch phrase for interviews) which came first, the title or the story?

Paul D. Brazil: The story was originally called ‘A New Dawn Fades‘ after the Joy Division song, but I thought that was a bit too glum, chum.

L. Vera: What should we expect from you in the future?

Paul D. Brazil: Two anthologies that I’ve edited will be out very, very soon: Drunk On The Moon and True Brit Grit (which I edited with Luca Veste).

I’ll have story -The Liberator- in Matt Hilton‘s Action magazine and one called Catch As Catch Can in an anthology that’s being put out by the people behind Solarcide magazine. The Italian publisher Lorenzo Mazzoni will be putting out a novelette as part of a series of stories set in various cities of the world. Mine is set in Warsaw.

And there are a couple more things in the works that I don’t want to talk about right now.

L. Vera: You’ve heard here first. Paul’s a writer not a fighter. I can’t wait to read “The Beginning Of The End” in Burning Bridges on Amazon, May 1st. Also, check out Paul D. Brazil at his blog and read his stories or I’ll punch ya in the face.

6 responses

  1. I’m sensing a theme here…

    April 27, 2012 at 3:04 pm

    • You’ll never figure me out. Especially after you read George’s tomorrow. I had to cut a lot of jokes because hes way too intense.

      April 27, 2012 at 7:33 pm

  2. pauldbrazill

    Thanks for the interview, mate!

    April 28, 2012 at 5:10 am

    • No, thank you for your time. And if you ever want to publicize a new book or story, I’m always happy to help.

      April 28, 2012 at 7:20 pm

  3. Pingback: Sundries:Reviews and Interviews | 13 Shots Of Grit

Leave a Reply

