My collection of free short stories. Because nothing else in life is free.

Diary of a Madman – August 16th

**Author’s notes: This is the ninth piece, the first is found here

You can find the complete, professionally edited and extended book here along with two short stories for $2.99.**

June 20, 1979

To anyone who reads this,

I am lost in the woods. Todd attacked me and if I don’t make it out of here alive then he has also killed me.

He’s crazy. We woke up in the middle of the night and I heard a wolf howl. It scared me. I told Todd that I was scared and we need to go home; but he wouldn’t listen. The howling got louder and I started to cry. He looked into my eyes and I told him, ‘I want to go home. I want to be with my family.’ He snapped, I saw it in his eyes.

He hit me over the head with a rock. I’m bleeding and I am getting a bit dizzy. I just want to you to know that I love you mom. I love you too, dad and I am sorry.

August 16th

Dear Diary,

I spent the whole day writing. I tried to get those notes out of my head. I wrote and wrote and wrote. Then… someone knocked on the door. I assumed it was Vanessa. I just sat there typing away. I closed the blinds and stayed in my robe. I keep thinking about how I knew it was me who wrote those notes. It didn’t even look like my handwriting and I don’t remember writing any of it. Maybe Sarah is dead. Maybe I did kill her, but why don’t I remember?

No. I received a letter from her when I was in college. I need to find it. I’m going tomorrow to my parent’s house. I need to find it.

By the way, my novel is coming along, but so is the hunger.

August 17th

Dear Diary,

I had a horrible dream last night. I was standing on the street in front of my house. I was in my childhood pajamas but I wasn’t a boy. I was a grown man. The only light in the sky came from the moon and its many stars. I slowly walked over the dew covered grass and towards the garage. I remember the garage door disappearing in thin air as I approached it.
Inside the empty garage floor was a lone cardboard box. On the side written in a black marker was the name “Sarah”. I opened it and inside was her head. It appeared to have been bludgeoned. Her face was barely recognizable.

There was also a book in there as well. It was her Diary. As I reached for it, the garage seemed to turn into a dark forest. I was back in the woods. Her Diary was in my hands. I opened it and bellowing cloud of air and fear flew into my face. I woke up screaming and terrified. At that point I didn’t want to go back home; but I have to. I wrote this entry while the dream was still fresh in my mind. I will write more tonight when I get back home.

Nest: here

Leave a Reply

