My collection of free short stories. Because nothing else in life is free.

An Interview with the Menacing Joshua J. Mark

L. Vera: Hi. It’s a pleasure to have you here on my blog.

Joshua J. Mark: Great to be here. Thanks for having me.

L. Vera: I wanan start with an important question. Which do you prefer dogs or cats?

Joshua J. Mark: Definitely dogs. I live with one dog and four cats. We’re outnumbered. It’s a tragic scenario. My wife and daughter are cat lovers so my evil plan to leave the back door open for a night and then say, “Cats? What cats? We had cats?” will never be realized.

L. Vera: I read on B. R. Stateham’s blog you once had a dog named “Milkbone”. Ever write him, symbolically, in a story?

Joshua J. Mark: Yes, he’s shown up in various forms through the years mostly as a symbol of loss having nothing to do with an actual dog. He does make a realistic appearance in my novel `Other People’s Dreams’, though.

L. Vera: Should we expect a dog in “Safety First”, found in Burning Bridges?

Joshua J. Mark: No dogs in `Safety First’ – only on obsession which steadily grinds down the mind of the narrator.

L. Vera: Why Burning Bridges? Why with such a colorful authors?

Joshua J. Mark: I’m really, deeply, honored to be included with the other writers in`Burning Bridges’. I think the title is great, the stories are great, and I love how the project developed in response to a disappointment we all shared together in the publishing world.

L. Vera: If I were to stalk your work what should I expect to see in the future, at the end of my binoculars.

Joshua J. Mark: I’m presently marketing my Paranormal Young Adult novel, `The Girl from Yesterday’ and I have two others already written in the Rebecca Pender series (a girl who sees and talks to ghosts)so I’m hoping you’ll see that in the not-so-distant future. I’m also in the process of re-writing this other novel, `Other People’s Dreams’ about a guy who discovers he can make everyone around him happy by lying to them about pretty much everything.

L. Vera: Awesome, I’m actually about to read your story in my copy of Burning Bridges, which is out today. Free on Smashwords and .99 on Amazon, which will be donated to “Literacy for Incarcerated Teens”. Thank you and I hope to have you on again.

Joshua J. Mark: Thanks. It was a pleasure.

7 responses

  1. Great interview, Mark and Luis! And I’m hoping Burning Bridges will be a great success.

    May 1, 2012 at 10:13 am

    • Success or not, it’s a great read. Too bad me and you are at the end of the book. 🙂 But I actually read “A gift” first. Good stuff. 🙂

      May 1, 2012 at 10:27 am

      • I rarely start at the beginning of a book of short stories….

        May 1, 2012 at 11:00 am

      • Now I don’t. 🙂

        May 1, 2012 at 11:08 am

  2. Great interview. You’re getting pretty damn good at this, L.
    Btw, I put you guys last because I wanted to end the collection on a high note!

    May 1, 2012 at 11:57 am

    • I’m just joking. 🙂 Someone had to be at the end, I’m happy I’m just in there. 🙂

      May 1, 2012 at 12:07 pm

  3. Yeah, who reads an anthology in order. You jump to the writers you like best or the titles that intrigue. As a middle child, I of course resent being in the middle AGAIN 😉

    May 1, 2012 at 12:45 pm

Leave a Reply

