My collection of free short stories. Because nothing else in life is free.

An Interview With The Multiple Personalities of Edith Maxwell

L. Vera:Edith Maxwell it’s nice to have you all here. If you noticed the title to this interview, I think you might have an idea of where I’m going to go with this.

Edith Maxwell: I do! We’re happy to be here, too.

L. Vera: How many pen names do you have?

Edith Maxwell: Tace Baker is the first pen name I am using professionally. My three-book Local Foods Mysteries contract with Kensington Publishing specified that I couldn’t publish any other mysteries as Edith Maxwell during the terms of the contract. When I landed a contract with Barking Rain Press to publish Speaking of Murder, the first in my Speaking of Mystery series, I needed to come up with a pseudonym. You can read about my process here.   I finally settled on Tace, an old Quaker name, because my protagonist Lauren Rousseau, is a Quaker linguistics professor. And Baker is at the front of the alphabet and easy to spell (and I love to bake!).

L. Vera: I’ve also had plan to use the pen name, “4”? What do you think? I was thinking of releasing my sci-fiction under that name and having a whole persona behind it.

Edith Maxwell: “4” is intriguing. I wonder if it would be difficult to make people understand it is a name, though.

L. Vera: The reason I chose L. Vera was because it’s hard to tell my gender. Just by correcting people, I’ve met lots of people.

So you and Tace Baker each have a story in Burning Bridges. Why did you decide to get those stories in “Burning Bridges”?

Edith Maxwell: Speaking of Murder  is the book for which I burned a bridge behind me, by withdrawing from my contract with a fraudulent so-called publisher. I wanted to honor the other authors who went through the same kind of grief by joining the collection. And since Tace is just starting her writing career, she needed a short story pub credential.

L. Vera:What can we expect those stories to be about?

Edith Maxwell: Both of my stories are about revenge and burning bridges of a sort, so I thought they’d be a good fit. One describes a writer who needed an idea for a crime story, and decided to make it come true, as well. The other could be seen as murder out of compassion or out of greed, or both. My villains are just that, kind of bad people at heart.

L. Vera:In the future, where will we find your stories in? And any other pen names we should look forward to seeing?

Edith Maxwell: Speaking of Murder will be out from Barking Rain Press in early fall of 2012 in both paperback and e-formats. Look for TaceBaker.com, @tacebaker, and Tace Baker on Facebook and Amazon. I’d love a follow and a Like! The first Local Foods Mystery,A Tine to Live, a Tine to Die, featuring organic farmer Cam Flaherty, will be out next spring from Kensington Publishing. I hope a few other short stories will pop up here and there, too!

A lot of friends actually call me Max, so I wouldn’t be surprised if I found a way to write under that name, too.

L. Vera: Thank you, Edith Maxwell. It was a pleasure to have you on my blog and I look forward to reading your stories in Burning Bridges. Please visit Edith Maxwell’s blog and amazon page, follow her on Twitter, and give Edith M. Maxwell a Like on Facebook.

Edith Maxwell: Thanks so much for having me on, Luis. And good luck with your writing career, too.

2 responses

  1. New photo. Edith no likey the the other one. 🙂

    May 4, 2012 at 12:02 pm

  2. I think writers have several people in their heads. Good to name them.

    May 4, 2012 at 12:52 pm

Leave a Reply

